The Election Commission on Thursday reinstated candidature of 81 aspirants to vie for the December 30 general election whose nomination papers were earlier rejected by returning officers during scrutiny,   

The commission on the day heard 160 appeals and upheld decisions of returning officers in the cases of 77 of them. Two appeals still remain pending with the commission, said the commission secretary Helaluddin Ahmed in the evening.

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party has got back their single candidates in four constituencies— Dhaka 1, Bogura 7, Jamalpur 4 and Manikganj 2 —after the Election Commission cleared its aspirants’ candidature for the parliamentary seats after hearing their petitions.

Election Commission on Thursday reinstated nominations for Morshed Milton in Bogura 7, Khandakar Abu Ashfaq in Dhaka 1, Faridul Kabir Talukdar in Jamalpur 4, and Abidur Rahman Khan in Manikganj 2 after hearing their appeals. 

The party had no candidates in these constituencies as the returning officers had rejected nomination papers of all the aspirants from BNP.

The commission also reinstated candidature of BNP aspirants Aminul Haque in Rajshahi 1 upheld decision of returning officer to reject nomination paper of Iqbal Hasan Mahmud for Sirajganj 2.

Of the petitions, the EC cleared the candidature of 56 contestants, including BNP candidate Golam Maula Rony of Patuakhali 3.

Among others who got back their candidatures with the EC’s order include BNP contestants Tamij Uddin of Dhaka 20 and Akhteruzzaman of Kishoreganj 2, Abdul Majid of Jhenaidah  2,  Faridul Kabir Talukder of Jamalpur 4,  Mohammad Shahjahan of Patuakhali 3, Abdul Kaiyum Chowdhury of Sylhet 3, Fazlur Rahman for Joypurhat 1, Hasadul Islam of Pabna 3, Abidur Rahman Khan for Manikganj 2, Ainul Haque of Sirajganj 3, Joynal Abedin for Mymensingh 7, AKM Mukhlesur Rahman of Sherpur 2, Selim Bhuiyan of Dhaka 5, Tozammel Haque for Manikganj 1, Ahammad Taibur Rahman of Mymensingh 3, Abu Asif Ahmed for Brahmanbaria 2 and Syed Abu Bakar Siddique of Dhaka 14.

Besides, other valid candidates declared by the EC include Sumon Sanyamat of Patuakhali 1, Afsar Ali of Satkhira 2, Jahirul Islam Mintu of Madaripur 1, Mahbub Alam and Joynal Abedin of Gazipur 2, Jasmine Noor Baby of Brahmanbaria 6, Mustafa Selim of Rangpur 4, SM Shafiqul Alam of Khulna 6, Jubair Ahmed of Habiganj 1, Abdullah Al Helal of Brahmanbaria 3, Abu Bakar Siddique of Mymensingh 2, Sulaiman Khan Rabbani of Habiganj 4, Alauddin Mridha of Natore 4, Yunus Ali of Kurigram 4, Anisuzzaman of Barishal 2, Kamruzzaman Swadhin of Jhenaidah 3, KM Mujibul Haque of Cumilla 3, Foyzul Munir Chowdhury of Sylhet 5, Abdul Mannan of Jhenaidah 4, Syed Anwar Ahammad Liton of Brahmanbaria 3, Mamunur Rashid of Brahmanbaria 5 and Zakir Hossain of Dhaka 14.

The commission will hear more 150 appeals on Friday and the remaining 233 on Saturday.

News Courtesy:

Register for comment


Latest Episode Videos

Tritiyo Matra

Follow us on Facebook