The cabinet on Monday approved in principle the drafts of ‘Lakshmipur Science and Technology University Bill 2020’ and ‘Bogura Science and Technology Bill 2020’ allowing the authorities concerned to establish two more public universities. 

The Secondary and Higher Education Division placed the draft bills in the weekly cabinet meeting with prime minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair at the Secretariat.

‘The cabinet has endorsed both the draft bills, which are similar to the laws about other public universities, to set up a university in Lakshmipur and another in Bogura,’ cabinet secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam told a press briefing after the meeting.

With these two new institutions, the number of public universities across the country would be 52, according to officials. 

On December 30, the cabinet approved ‘Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University Bill 2019’ and ‘Sunamganj Science and Technology University Bill 2019’ to found the first-mentioned university in Kishoreganj and the latter in Sunamganj. 

Before that, the cabinet on December 23 approved the drafts of two laws for setting up a science and technology university in Chandpur and an agriculture university in Habiganj.

 A number of newly-established public universities in the country are operating without the required number of qualified teachers.

Students of such universities said that the academic activities of these institutions were seriously hampered as their authorities appointed only a few lecturers and hired some senior teachers and professionals as guest teachers.

At least six new public universities did not get senior teachers to recruit in posts of associate professors or professors after publishing advertisements following the approval of the posts by the University Grants Commission, an UGC official said.

The universities are Sheikh Hasina University in Netrakona, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University in Gopalganj, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University in Kaliakair, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Maritime University operating in the capital, Bangamata Sheikh Fojilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University in Jamalpul and Khulna Agricultural University, according to the UGC official.

Some of these universities are even operated on temporary campuses like many private universities, he said.

Currently a total of 46 public universities are operating in the country.

Senior academics said that such new universities would deliver little result unless the government made decisions in view of the ground realities.

News Courtesy:

Register for comment


Latest Episode Videos

Tritiyo Matra

Follow us on Facebook