No room for Sohag in WC probable 30s

The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Saturday announced 30-member preliminary squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2015 to be staged in Australia and New Zealand without any major surprise.Suspended off-spinner Sohag Gazi, who is busy remodeling his action, is the only notable omission as selectors are unsure if he will be able to get cleared before the tournament.Sohag was suspended by the ICC in October after he was found to have extended his arm beyond maximum permissible 15 degrees during delivery.

He is, however, participating in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League for Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club as there is no bar on him bowling in domestic competitions.He has done reasonably well in the league picking up 11 wickets in six matches.‘We are not considering him as we don’t think he will be able to make it [come back after remodeling his action] before the World Cup,’ chief selector Faruk Ahmed told New Age.His omission came in day when Pakistan Cricket Board included off-spinner Saeed Ajmal in their 30-man squad despite being suspended by ICC for similar allegation.
Young wicketkeeper cum opening batsman Liton Kumar Das and pace bowler Mohammad Sohid are the new faces in an otherwise predictable preliminary squad.

Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak and all-rounder Nasir Hossain also have been included despite them missing the recent series against Zimbabwe.
‘I believe we have picked the strongest 30 available to us at the moment,’ said Faruk.‘We have concentrated on creating back-ups for every position because it will be a long tournament. We have a good balance in the side with all areas covered.’BCB included Ziaur Rahman, Soumya Sarker and Mukter Ali to fill the spot of seaming all-rounder but there was no room for Farhad Reza.‘The 30-man squad is an accurate reflection of the resources on hand. Most of the players who have been in or around the national team during the last six or seven months have been given a chance,’ said Faruk.



Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Shamsur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Muktar Ali, Marshall Ayub, Rubel Hossain, Anamul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Sakib al Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Nasir Hossain, Abul Hasan, Elias Sunny, Arafat Sunny, Ziaur Rahman, Md Mithun, Mashrafe bin Murtaza, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Taijul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom, Abdur Razzak, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Jubair Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, and Mohammed Sohid.

- See more at: