BCB names squad for T20 World cup

Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 15-member squad for the forthcoming Twenty20 World Cup, scheduled to be held in UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

There were no surprises as all the members from the Tigers' squad in the ongoing New Zealand T20I series and their five-match T20I series against Australia last month have been included in the squad. 

Experienced opener Tamim Iqbal was not included in the squad after the southpaw had announced himself to be unavailable for the mega event.

There was a question if the board would include a leg-spinner, Aminul Islam, in the squad. However, the 21-year-old did not make the cut as he was named among the reserves alongside right-arm pacer Rubel Hossain.

Bangladesh went with four frontline pacers — Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin and Shoriful Islam.

Mahmudullah will be leading the side in the tournament.

Bangladesh got slotted in Group B alongside Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman in the first round of the tournament.

Bangladesh failed to ensure an automatic place in the Super 12s as they were out of the top eight in the ICC T20 rankings as of March 20, 2021.

The Tigers will now have to finish in the top two of their group to move onto the Super 12s of the tournament.

The Group A of the first round features Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia.

If Bangladesh finish top of their group, they will be placed in Group 2 alongside India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the runners-up of Group A.
Squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Liton Das, Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed

Standby: Rubel Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob

News Courtesy: